Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Now!
Young Playwrights for Change


Announcing the Young Playwrights for Change 2016 Winners!

Congratulations to our Young Playwrights for Change 2016 winners!

This year, 21 TYA/USA and AATE member organizations held local playwriting contests asking their middle school students to explore the Open Theme “What Do You Want To Change About the World?”

The winning plays from each local contest were entered into our national competition. The first place winning play will receive a reading at OTW: Sessions 2016 at the Kennedy Center in Washington, DC on Friday May 6.

For a full list of host organizations, judges, and other information, visit the Young Playwrights for Change homepage.


First Place
by M.J. Sasse
Sponsored by Oregon Children’s Theatre, Portland, Oregon


Second Place
The Tears of Tomorrow
by Rachel Radloff
Sponsored by Omaha Theater Company at the Rose, Omaha, Nebraska

Third Place
A Stand for Equality…and Friendship
by Catie Mendivil
Sponsored by ZACH Theatre, Austin, Texas

Honorable Mentions (in alphabetical order)
The Safest Place by Caroline Giordano, People’s Light, Malvern, Pennsylvania

Same Difference, by Aru Hopper, Children’s Theatre of Charlotte, Charlotte, North Carolina

Thank you to ALL our awesome playwrights for telling your stories. And a huge thank you to all our regional sponsor organizations.


Association Management Software Powered by®  ::  Legal