

American Alliance for Theatre & Education Announces 2023 Award Recipients

WASHINGTON, D.C.–June 26, 2023–Each year, the American Alliance for Theatre & Education (AATE) honors exceptional individuals as well as organizations for the high-quality work they perform in the field of theatre with and for young audiences. Recipients will be recognized at the AATE Awards Ceremony taking place **July 29 at 6pm PST** in Seattle, WA during the AATE Annual Conference. The list of 2023 AATE Award recipients is included below.

"We're proud to recognize these award recipients for their contributions to theatre and theatre education," said Alexis Truitt, executive director of AATE. "Their accomplishments and this recognition underscores the impact of theatre with and for young audiences."

AATE Award recipients represent the best of the field and inspire others with the outstanding work, commitment, and dedication that makes them outstanding colleagues and allies.

The complete list of AATE Award recipients can be found below.

AATE Awards Recipients

The Johnny Saldaña Outstanding Professor of Theatre Education Award Mindy R. Carter, PhD

Sara Spencer Artistic Achievement Award Roseann Sheridan

Don and Elizabeth Doyle Fellowship Mateo Hernandez

> Winifred Ward Scholar Alex Turner

Distinguished Dissertation Award Winner Quenna L. Barrett "Re-Writing the Declaration: Re-Writing the Past to Fix the Future from a Black, Queer, Feminist Lens""

Distinguished Dissertation Award Honorable Mention Zena "Participatory Action Research and Theatre: Decolonizing Secondary Theatre Education Through Process-Based Culturally Sustaining Pedagogy and Methodology"

Distinguished Thesis Award Winner Jessica Cortez "Carework Theatre Project"

Distinguished Thesis Award Honorable Mention Lucy Kania "Against Type: Fatphobia, Bias, and Typecasting in Educational Theatre"

Distinguished Book Award Winner Hope in a Collapsing World: Youth, Theatre, and Listening as a Political Alternative Kathleen Gallagher Publisher: University of Toronto Press Distinguished Book Award Honorable Mention Smallest Circles First: Exploring Teacher Reconciliatory Praxis through Drama Education Mindy R. Carter, PhD Publisher: University of Toronto Press

Distinguished Play Award: Category A *Desvelado* José Casas Publisher: Dramatic Publishing

Distinguished Play Award: Category B Bulletproof Backpack Eric Coble Publisher: Dramatic Publishing

Distinguished Play Award: Category C Carmela Full of Wishes Alvaro Saar Rios Publisher: TRW Plays

Distinguished Play Award: Category D *Wish, A Musical* Paul Lewis Publisher: YouthPLAYS Playwrights for Change Adult Category Winner *Hiking* Claudia Haas

Playwrightsfor Change Adult Category Runner Up You, Me and Victor Hugo! Candace Amarante

Playwrights for Change High School Category Winner *When We Say Goodbye* Mackenzie Bonilla

Playwrights for Change High School Category Runner Up *The Mechanics of a Goodbye* Agathe Robert

Playwrights for Change Middle School Category Winner *Masks* Elena M. Meloy

Playwrights for Change Middle School Category Runner Up *The 1.5 Lives of Oliver Peters* Annabeth Glick

###

American Alliance for Theatre & Education

<u>The American Alliance for Theatre and Education</u> (AATE), among the most recognized arts education organizations, works to ensure that every young person experiences quality theatre arts in their lives provided by proficient, talented artists, and educators. AATE is a registered 501(c)3 non-profit organization. Through its membership of theatre artists, inservice and pre-service teachers, professors, directors, scholars and playwrights, AATE serves more than a million students in 48 U.S. states and 19 countries worldwide.