Submission and Nomination Guidelines

Click to learn more about each individual award guidelines:

Research Award Submissions


We welcome submissions from a wide variety of research traditions that explore any topic related to educational theatre/drama, applied theatre, and/or theatre for young audiences. Additional information may be found HERE.


  • Any AATE member may submit their work for review.
  • Theses and dissertations may be entered up to four years from their date of completion (This year, theses and dissertations completed between November 2013-November 2017 are eligible for submission).
  • All finalists must register for, attend, and present their research at the Annual AATE Conference to be held in Minneapolis, MN from August 1-5, 2018.


Authors should submit the following materials to the Research Awards Chair by e-mail:

  • A cover page indicating the author's name, affiliation, address, phone number, e-mail address, study title and (for theses/dissertation) the name and contact information of the committee chairperson
  • A 1,200-1,500 word abstract of the master's thesis, doctoral dissertation, or research report, accompanied by a 2-page representative bibliography. The abstract must NOT include any identifying information related to the author of her/his university affiliation.
  • For theses and dissertations: a letter from the chairperson of the student's committee recommending the study for consideration.

Each of the above should be attached as separate files to a single message and e-mailed to [email protected]. Only electronic submissions in MS Word (.doc or .docx) or PDF format will be accepted.

Review Timeline:

  • All submissions must be received by 11:59pm PST on November 17, 2017.
  • Authors be notified by February 5, 2018 as to if their submission will be advanced to Round II of the review process. Authors whose works are advanced will be asked to submit electronic copies of their entire completed theses/dissertations/research reports by 11:59pm PST on February 12, 2018.
  • Finalists will be notified of award decisions by May 7, 2018. Award winners and authors receiving honorable mentions will share and celebrate their research at the annual AATE conference to be held August 1-5, 2018 in Minneapolis, MN, and will be invited to submit an article based on their research to the Youth Theatre Journal for potential publication. 
Send all electronic submissions and requests for further information to:
Dr. Mary McAvoy
AATE Research Awards Chair
[email protected]

Deadline: November 17, 2017

Judith Kase Cooper Honorary Research Award Nomination

Current AATE members may begin the nomination process by e-mailing the Research Awards Chair at [email protected] to indicate their intent to nominate a candidate for this award. A complete nomination package will consist of:

  • Current curriculum vitae of the nominee.
  • A minimum of four signed letters of support testifying to the nominee's significant international impact on the field's research (At least three letters must be from AATE members with established research reputations; at least one must be from as established scholar whose primary area of inquiry lies outside the field of theatre education or theatre for young audiences).
  • Additional required materials and the deadline for their receipt will be provided upon receipt of the intent to nominate e-mail.

Additional information may be found HERE.

Please note: The nominee may or may not be aware of the nomination. The Research Award Chair and jurors will hold all nominations in confidence. The nominators will be informed of the results by the Research Award Chair.

Deadline: November 17, 2017

Achievement Awards Nominations

Nominations for the Achievement Awards can be submitted electronically. Incomplete nominations may disqualify the nominee. A nomination packet must include the following (not to exceed twenty (20) print pages per packet):

  • Completed nomination form (To access the form, click HERE.)
  • Current curriculum vitae of the nominee and an outline or brief description of nominee's outstanding achievements
  • Three signed letters of support (one support letter must be written by an AATE member)
  • Relevant supporting materials (not to exceed six additional one-sided pages)

Please note: The Winifred Ward Scholarship and the Doyle Fellowship are reviewed by separate committees. For nomination guidelines for these awards, please click  HERE.

Deadline: February 1, 2018

Distinguished Book And Play Nominations

AATE Member Nomination Procedure
AATE members may nominate a book or play published in 2017 by completing the nomination form HERE. Please contact the Publisher and request that they provide six copies of the book or play for the committee to be sent to AATE's National Office, 718 7th St NW, Washington, DC 20001.

Publisher Nomination Procedure
Established Publishers will receive a request for nominations and must send SIX Copies of each book or play nominated, a letter of intent including the award category, and a packing slip directly to the AATE National Office, 718 7th St NW, Washington, DC 20001. For plays, each publisher may nominate up to three plays in EACH category. Nomination packages must arrive at the AATE Office by the established deadline.

Deadline: February 1, 2018

AATE Lin Wright Professional Teaching Grant

The Lin Wright Professional Teaching Grant supports the work and professional development of an exemplary secondary school teacher through the introduction of AATE’s national professional network. The $3,000 grant funds registration and travel expenses to attend AATE conferences in 2017 and 2018, and a project aimed to grow or enrich the theatre program in their school or to make the program more visible in their community.

To apply, please click HERE.

For detailed information, please go  HERE.

Deadline: February 1, 2018