Playwrights in Our Schools

Playwrights In Our Schools (PIOS) is a project of the American Alliance for Theatre and Education (AATE) Playwriting Network and is sponsored by the Broadway Across America-Utah Education Fund.  Since 2003, Playwrights In Our Schools has brought playwrights into secondary schools for three-day residencies.  While in residence, the playwrights hear a reading of their latest works, engage in workshop development, hear and respond to student-written plays, and talk to theatre, creative writing, and language arts classes about the process of playwriting.  Resident playwrights have included Sandra Fenichel Asher, Brian Geuhring, Ric Averill, Yokanaan Kearns, Max Bush, Carol Korty, D.W. Gregory, and Gloria Bond Clunie.

Playwrights who apply for the program must be current members of AATE.  While in the past, we have been able to accept applications from schools throughout the country to host the residencies, our current sponsorship limits applications to Utah secondary schools.  We hope to be able to re-open applications to schools in other regions in the near future.  School applications are accepted in the fall and the residencies are scheduled, by agreement between the playwright and the school, between January and May of that year. The program is directed by Dr. John Newman, director of the Theatre for Youth and Education (TYE) Center at Utah Valley University.  For more information about the program, contact Dr. John Newman at [email protected] or 801-863-5079.

Find Application Info Here
Application Due: December 31, 2019